mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Set on Rockhopper, but which option?

Hey guys, I am new to MTB, so please bear with my noobness.

I am looking for my first bike, and I looked around and finally locked down the Rockhopper 07. The problem is, there are several different versions with different setups. I am new to different components, so I need your help here.

Which one out of basic, disc, comp, comp disc, pro disc, set the best price/performance ratio? I was told by my LBS that I should get a 17in frame, should that affect which version I should get?

If I go with cheaper config. and upgrade some of the components, would that be a good idea on this bike? How good is this frame for future upgrades?

I would say the max I can afford now should be $800. (Accessories can come later)

Thank you for your help,
    Peter

mtbr member
    Pete,
    If you can save a few more bucks you should get the PRO because of the M4 frame rather than the A1 Aluminum. The M4 Aluminum is just a better frame to build on down the road. Hydro Avid Juicy 3 brakes are better than the cable Avid BB5's. If I were you, I'd also ask to switch the rear der., shifter setup to SRAM X7 components. They are nicer than LX, Deore and shift allot better. Your LBS may swap those out for you for nothing or a few bucks if thay are cool. I bet you could find a LBS that would sell you a PRO for $900-950 or so this time of year.
    Just a lowly bike mechanic.

Specialized Enduro Expert w/ Double Barrel
    Specialized Gangster
    Curtlo Advanced Mountaineer

mtbr member