mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Rockhopper as first bike?

Hello all. First post so I hope that I do this right. I am currently looking at possibly getting a rockhopper or some sort of specialized mountain bike. I have been riding a paved path to get back into shape but want to start taking some of the trails around southern nm. I have been looking at a rockhopper but don't want to just get the low end. I am a little worried with going to a 2x10 set up and I know the RH comp has that. I am a total noob but am just looking for some insight. I'm interested in the carve/crave as well. And what about going to the stump jumper for a first bike? I am still going to be doing some paved road riding also to get back into shape. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    The 2x10 is a good setup, but so is the 3x9 and the 3x8. The 2x10 will just give a little better shifting and a smoother transmition between gears. The gear configuration shouldn't prevent you from getting into bike riding. You'll enjoy all of them. I would avoid anything that has a huge jump between the lowest two gears though (ie granny gear "Power Ring")

As far as the stumpjumper vs rockhopper, if you're just starting out and doing light to intermediate trails, the rockhopper is great. The only real issue is the more bike you buy up front, the better deal you get. If you get a cheap bike with plans to upgrade the fork and wheels, it will almost always cost more than buying the good bike to begin with. Only firm recommendation is make sure the fork is hydraulic fork instead of a mechanical lockout. (rockshox XC28 TK, XC30, XC32, Rockshox Recon, Suntour XCR, or just about anything that says Fox)

mtbr member
    Oct 2013

So I'm guessing it may be better to step up into the range of the carve/crave? Or the stump jumper?

mtbr member