mtbr member

Ride quality of S-Works Stumpy 29er carbon HT?

Can anyone riding one of these chime in on the overall feel of these frames over an aluminum Stumpy? Are they super stiff?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    I have a 2012 S-Works HT sram and my friend has a 2012 Stumpy Comp HT. The comp feels heavy, slow, and beats you up. My Carbon SW feels solid, smooth and much quicker...but it stills feels like a HT. My wife has a 2013 marathon HT and it feels similiar to my SW at less $.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    I don't mean to sound intrusive, but you've got to take into the consideration the difference in the parts spec on those bikes though. The Comp (and the Carbon Comp) have some very heavy wheels, saddles, bars etc. on them. It's not gonna be a fair comparison that you can guage feel from. I totally agree that your S-Works is completely different animal, but the difference in spec is going to cloud the true distinguishing between them.

This past summer I bought a '12 Comp HT 29er just to see if I would jive with the 29er wheels, instead of slamming down on an Expert or S-Works first. I had just bought my wife one and she was absolutely stoked on it, being her first 29er as well, and it was a pretty sharp looking little bike too. I built it, took it out for about a 10 mile ride at my home trails, and decided it was good enough to keep and deck out in Shimano. So I stripped it, put XTR and XT on it, and threw on a set of Crests laced with Revolution spokes to XT hubs. It's a completely different bike. Definitely not an S-Works, but it lost over a pound and a half. I put the same wheels on my wife's, which is otherwise bone stock, barring the Thompson stem, and she loved it too. Hers is still lighter than mine.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012