mtbr member
    Mar 2006

New question here. Rear Suspension Upgrade?

Newbie here. Love the board. I couldnt get the search to come up w/ what info I was needing so here is my question:

I have a 1999 FSR. It currently has the stock spring for the rear suspension. Can that spring be replaced with a shock? What kind/type shock? Do I need to modify the frame/mounts? I love the bike. I also don't have the $$$ to replace the whole bike. I am just getting back in the saddle from a nasty spill from 2 years ago. I ride in some pretty rocky terrain, with some high speed downhill, jumps, and climbs. Your advice & experience are appreciated. Thanks.

Benchracer

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    My LBS got back w/ me on this. The RockShox Bar 2.1 is a direct replacement.

Coaster also found a Fox Vanilla will work as long the the dimensions & compression work.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Hi, curious to know what the standard shock was on the 99. I have one but got it second hand and no idea. Its a rock shox which just has delux written on it. It also has cartridge bearings in rear. Suspect this may have been upgraded.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Yeah the stock shock for the 99 FSR...

was the Rock Shox Deluxe. Not the greatest shock on the market at the time, but serviceable.

The sealed cart bearing at the rear mount was definately an aftermarket upgrade. The standard set up was the more traditional reduce and bushing set up.

Good Dirt
    "I do whatever my Rice Cripsies tell me to!"

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    thanks for info

jason8265
    If interested I have a Fox shock from a 99 that was only ridden for a year before the frame was warrantied. I would make a really good deal on it since it does me little good. It came on the 99 FSR elite and will fit any of the FSR models of that year. Shoot me an email at jrdedrickson@bibb.com and I could get you some pics and details.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Sorbut