inexperienced at large
    Apr 2011

porosity/bad welds

I was taking a look at some of Specialized's new bikes. My own bike is getting a little old. I tried out the new enduro, both a comp and a carbon.

When I took a look at the welds on the comp, some of them looked like they had porosity on them and that maybe the painter tried to fill in with paint. I felt like if it got an ultrasound it would have been frightening. What's more is that it wasn't just one comp, there were 4 that looked like they had bad welds.

I had to wonder if it was really dangerous or not. I mean really, I'm an amateur at welding-but it looked bad. Very little consistency. I wouldn't let welds like that leave with my name on it. The guy at the shop I pointed it out to didn't know anything about welding, so I pointed out how nice I thought welds on one of the Intense frames looked and how good the tie-ins were on the clam shell design; and how it was consistent. Any word on this?

mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Re: porosity/bad welds

Spec welds are machine grade fabulous. There is a lifetime warranty if the weld fails, porosity on top doesn't mean failure.

I sure wouldn't own a bike with ugly welds, but I'm sure your eye is tricking you.

Pics?

Sent from my LG-P769 using Tapatalk 2

inexperienced at large
    Apr 2011
    'Porosity on top' doesn't make a whole lot of sense considering it was continuous indicating lack of atmosphere for a portion of the weld rather than just holding the torch a little too long at the end. It's good to hear their warranty on welds is lifetime.

I'll try to get some pictures, but I don't know how I'd like that if I owned a shop. Beside that, I wouldn't be so sure about my eyes being fooled. When a weld gets wide and flat and then becomes thin and tall it seems like the arc length is not continuous.