mtbr member
    Jul 2008

pitch comp brake upgrade

i have been reading ALOT and dropped the $ on a pitch comp today.the main complaints were grips,brakes and pedals.well ihave a grip i always use,same with pedals.now with the brakes im new to disk and really new to hydro disk.so i read some reveiws on the hayes strokers that come on the comp.bottom line,thats my first change.i really want good brakes that dont make a ton of noise.i have read really good things about the Avid Ball Bearing Disc Brake kit(BB7).yes its mechanical but its also simpl,.effective and easy on the wallet.would this be a stupid move?my other thought was changing to a hayes higher end brake if i could reuse things like the levers.but over all the the avids really made me think.feel free to slam me or make suggestions
    Last edited by nation1979; 07-26-2008 at 01:38 PM.

the #1 Stunna'
    I am ordering brakes for my pitch pro tomorrow. even the top end pitch only has juicy 3s I am going to order either the juicy 7s or the Avid Codes (depends on price.) If i were you i would look into at least Juicy 5s or shimano XT. I am not personaly a big fan of Hayes, however i am sure some of the higher end models are good too.

Here is a link to some good prices on some brakes......Also check with your LBS and see if there is anything that they can do, sometimes people upgrade, and then just leave them with the shop, and they can sell them to you for CHEAP!
    I has Bikes

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    i just spent the last 2 hours reading reviews on the BB7's.i think i might just go that route.keep i simple and effective.but i am going to check with my LBS and see.hell from what i read i would consider a straight trade for the BB& and they can keep the hayes

mtbr member
    Grips and pedals - ditto.