bike-zilla

Pedal suggestions

Hey all. Ive got an 07 rockhopper comp that im slowly beginning to upgrade (really as i break things- so slowly is good imo). One thing I am definately in the market for is some new platform pedals to replace the half plastic POS that came with the bike. I am looking for something with sealed bearings, preferably low profile, and nothing over 80 bucks (im a broke college student so im not trying to kill all my beer money on pedals)
    The specialized lo pro mag II looks really good, but its seemingly impossible to find them without having to order it from the lbs
    The transition stepdown also looks good but i havent seen one in person and cannot tell if it is thin like the lo pro- anyone have these that can chime in?
    what other pedals should i look at?
    Thanks

mtbr member
    You don't want clipless? Unless you're doing tricks or just using it for short in town trips, I don't see why anyone would not want clipless pedals.

banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Industrial
    You don't want clipless? Unless you're doing tricks or just using it for short in town trips, I don't see why anyone would not want clipless pedals.
    For platforms, check out .243 racing pedals....They are cheap but good...Or clipless, shimano 520, good beginner clipless

bike-zilla
    no clipless- my bike is also used as transportation a lot so i want to be able to wear any kind of shoe with it
    i will look into the .243's, thanks
    any opinions on the kona wah wah's

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    crankbrothers 50/50, they make an awesome product and stand behind it, this time of year a lot of online retailers are marking them down, the pro mag II's are sweet too one of my friends has them they're super tacky.

bike-zilla
    yea i just saw that cambria has the 50/50xx for just under $60- i might have to jump on that but im not sold on the removable plate design yet

Just Wanna Ride!
    Feb 2004