mtbr member
    May 2007

Parts compatibility

Hi all.

Obviously new so bear with me if this has been asked, I need to go to bed because I have differential equasions and physics (magnetism) tests tomorrow.

I am lookin to get into this sport pretty seriously, looking for a 99-01 ranged FSR or stumpjumper FSR. Meaning probably not more than 700 budget and I cant bee too picky on the sizing either because the bikes are probably a little different now and I'm new to this. I lost a ebay auction earlier lol.

Basically my question is if I get a bike but find that I need a larger or smaller frame, how compatible are the parts from bikes in that year range (Stumpjumper and FSR's of course). Like forks, cranks, hubs and so on.Lets say I buy a large (19-20) FSR but the frame is a little large. Would I be able to buy a Med (17-18) sized frame for a FSR and have direct part swap down the road? I would expect basically everything to be the same only a variation in frame size. FSR to Stump compatibility? Probably no the triangle but anyhow...

A fast response would be very appreciated, I may be getting a bike this weekend.

Thanks, Kyle.

mtbr member
    If you are simply swapping different sized frames of the same model and year you should have little problem. Things to watch out for include fork steerer length - if you go from a small to a larger size you could find the steerer tube has been cut too short. You may also have to invest in a new bottom bracket and headset - simply because at that age they may be too worn.