mtbr member
    Jul 2005

how much would it cost to upgrade the stumpjumper to disc brakes?

I'm new to all this, but I want to get a bike that will last me a while to start out with. i'm basically looking out the rockhopper comp disc or the stumpjumper. i want the disc brakes, but i think i can live without them for a while. the stumpjumper is lighter, nicer components all around and has lockout on the front fork.

so if i spent the extra couple hundred and bought the base model stumpjumper, how much would going to disc brakes later cost me? and not a cheap set of disc brakes, but a decent set. would the parts that i remove be worth anything on here or ebay?

thanks!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by thehustler
    I'm new to all this, but I want to get a bike that will last me a while to start out with. i'm basically looking out the rockhopper comp disc or the stumpjumper. i want the disc brakes, but i think i can live without them for a while. the stumpjumper is lighter, nicer components all around and has lockout on the front fork.

so if i spent the extra couple hundred and bought the base model stumpjumper, how much would going to disc brakes later cost me? and not a cheap set of disc brakes, but a decent set. would the parts that i remove be worth anything on here or ebay?

thanks!
    If your going to go through all that trouble why not just buy a disc brake model in the first place?

Jim D.
    04 Stumpjumper Expert Disc
    10 Marin San Rafael

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    the disc brake model is $400 more. i can trick myself into buying a $1100 bike for something i've never done. but $1500 is pushing it.

mtbr member
    for something i've never done.
    That being said, I'd suggest a nice $500-$600 hard tail. The reasoning behind it is if you hate it you've still got $400 more in the bank. You've still got a great bike for street/bike path/date rides.