mtbr member
    Sep 2008

New question here. Help swapping parts to a Stumpjumper Evo

Hi everyone, I need some help please. I've been riding an Ibis Mojo very happily for around 4 years now, keeping it well maintained and swapping parts as needed. Iíve been considering getting a new bike or a new frame, always thinking that I should try something different with a more progressive geometry but wanting to stay with carbon. A complete bike itís been out of the question because prices are too steep for carbon versions (5-6k), so since the Stumpy EVO came out if caught my eye and last week out of nowhere I got a very good deal in a used but in great condition Evo Carbon 2013 frame.
    SoÖ now the idea is to swap all parts from my Ibis to the new frame, Iím really not looking to spend more than needed since my parts are all in very good shape and my fork is serviced every time is needed. BUT there are some parts that are not compatible with the new frame; so far I believe I need:

1. An adapter for my rear Ibis hub to be able to convert the wheel to 142 (easily gettable from Ibisí website)
    2. New shifter cabling since the Ibis doesnít use complete housing and the Stumpy does (no problems here either)
    3. A special headset and hereís the first part that I need help with. My current fork is 1 1/8 which was standard back then; I believe I need a particular headset and/or some adapter to be able to fit it in the new tapered frame. What should I get?
    4. Another issue here, my current drive train is 3x9; I think everything will work except my frond derailleur. The one from the Ibis is clamp and I believe I need some sort of Direct Mount; can you help me with this so I know which one to get? My shifters are X9 I was thinking maybe a Shimano XT, they are better for front ones.

I think thatís all I need to get my Stumpy EVO on the trails, if you can think of anything else I might needÖ I really appreciate all help.
    Cheers!.

mtbr member