Big Gulps, Alright!

Help me finish my bike!

I've been building it piece by piece for about a year. Started life as a 2005 Hardrock Pro, now it's a hodge podge of parts centered on an 05 Stumpy FSR Expert frame. I'm a college student and I only have a summer job. What with Spring coming, I'll be working again in March and come May I'll finally have the cash to finish building this bike the way I want. I need some suggestions though on parts to buy (cabin fever's got me bored).

Here's the bike as it stands:

2005 Stumpy FSR Expert frame (w/Fox Triad, 100mm travel)
    Fox F100RL (needs to be rebuilt)
    Avid BB7s w/ Speed Dial 7 levers (160mm roundagons F&R)
    FSA FR-200 stem
    Azonic Accelerator Pedals
    Spec. Resolutions (26 x 2.1)
    XT crankset
    XT cassette
    XT FD
    Deore LX chain
    --------
    Deore RD
    Deore shifters
    Sun Ditchwitch rims laced to Joytech hubs w/stock skewers
    Stock bars, seat, seatpost, seatpost collar

Everything below the line is getting swapped out. I'm also planning on upgrading the rotors to Cleansweeps, and throwing on a 185mm rotor in the front.

The bike weighs just under 31#s right now. By my math the wheelset weights 2916g. I ride something in between XC and AM and I'm by no means smooth. I want a wheelset that can handle that type of abuse (I'm 5'11" 165#) and still weighs in under 1900g. I've been looking at the Mavic Crosstrails (1820g, ~$470), but it seems like I can get more for my money. I want the wheelset to be UST tubeless ready (I ride with tubes, but I'd like the ability to change in the future) and I'm looking to spend less than $500 (very firm on this). I'm open to both purchasing a wheelset online, or having one custom built, assuming it fits my price range. I'll probably buy a set of red Hope or Salsa skewers to add some bling.

I'm thinking I'll go with an SRAM X.9 shifter/dérailleur combo. I've heard very good things about SRAM and I want to give it a try.