Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Getting a Hardrock...should I wait and get the sport?

I'm going to drop the hammer on a 11 Hardrock Disc but I was wondering how much better the Hardrock Sport Disc is? Should I go ahead and get the Sport or get the Disc and upgrade the drive train if and when it breaks? I'm a newb to all of this so if you could tell me exactly what the diffrence is I'd appreciate it...

Thanks!

Trail Rider
    Jun 2009
    The differences include an 8speed cassette over the 7 speed, much better disc brakes(bb5s over Tectro), a lockout on the fork - which can be usefull if you plan on hitting the streets especially.

IMO, I'd get the sport. If you stick with mountain biking enough, you'll likely upgrade all the parts that distinguish the sport disc from the regular disc anyway(or just buy a new bike all together), but you'll be in much better shape from the beginning.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by SuPrBuGmAn
    The differences include an 8speed cassette over the 7 speed, much better disc brakes(bb5s over Tectro), a lockout on the fork - which can be usefull if you plan on hitting the streets especially.

IMO, I'd get the sport. If you stick with mountain biking enough, you'll likely upgrade all the parts that distinguish the sport disc from the regular disc anyway(or just buy a new bike all together), but you'll be in much better shape from the beginning.
    Thanks for the response. I was aware of the 8 vs 7 but did NOT know about the better disc brakes and the lock out. Knowing that now it looks like it's a no brianer.

Thanks...

Trail Rider
    Jun 2009
    That black frame looks super sweet IMO too

mtbr member