mtbr member
    Feb 2007

FSRxc Womens Disc Brake Upgrade??

I'm new to the sport, and am looking to purchase my first bike. I'm looking into a full suspension bike specifically the FSRxc, and I was wondering if it can be upgraded to disc brakes, front and rear.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    the 07 fsrxc's can. didn't check other years but I just converted my 05sj fsr to disc; so I guess so. you are left with the post mounts which can be ugly.

I can tell you now there is little to be gained by going to disc's. I went from the avid sd5 rim brakes to juicy ultimates and I reckon the rim brakes work just as well, if not better!

mtbr member
    Id never go back to rims... Budget, go with the Juicy 5s. They're the same as the 7's/carbons, they just don't have the adjusting knob. I don't know anyone who uses it anyway. Hydro brakes are SOOOOO much stronger, especially when you get used to them, because you learn to manipulate them into an incredibly strong braking power. DONT GO HAYES!!!! AHHHHH!!!!

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    You'll need disc hubs if they bike doesn't come with them...

mtbr member
    Yeh, I forgot. Aside from the actual brakes, you would need to buy new hubs (unless the wheel has a rim brake hoop and disc hub), but that gets expensive. It's usually about 40$ per wheel for rebuild in labor alone, not to mention the hubs. And if you have been riding on the wheels, its usually just smarter to go with new spokes, too. Might as well, right? So, cheaper to buy a new wheelset instead of hubs. But for quality wheels/hubs AND brakes, new with tax you're looking at about 5 big ones. But, that's my assesment.

Going for a ride......