Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    ...idios...

Idea! FSR Pivot Bearing Overhaul

This is a guide for replacing the rear suspension pivot bearings on a 2001 Specialized Enduro. From around 1999/2000 the FSR design utilised sealed cartridge bearings rather than the nylon bushes used since the design was introduced. Not having been fortunate enough to dismantle any more recent models than my own, it has to be an assumption that any FSR beyond 2002 has more or less the same pivot assemblies.

Edit. For Horst link bearing assemblies, the method below is only applicable for pre-02 Enduros and pre-04 Stumpjumpers. Check out waynosdias's '04 SJ Bearings' thread for information on some later versions. I have an 07 Big Hit on the way so I'll update this guide once I've pulled the bearings on that!!
    I’m new to bike maintenance myself, having only got into it in the last year or so, so please excuse me if the balance of information (too much/too little) wobbles at times.

To the best of my knowledge, if anyone other than a ‘qualified’ mechanic replaces the bearings on your bike then your warranty will become worthless. Whether this applies only to the rear end which, at least in the UK, has only a three year warranty, I do not know. My second-hand frame was five this year and it’s already been powder-coated so I think I’m safe to assume I didn’t even have a warranty to worry about.
    Remember that it is your choice to do this job; I’m just showing you how I did mine. If you break something or void your warranty in the process it is your fault and I accept absolutely zero responsibility for the mistakes of heavy-handed amateur wrenches and professionals alike. Pulling bearings is not a particularly fine art; pushing them is only slightly more complex. I used presses constructed from long bolts, wrench sockets and a variety of washers and spacers. Using a hand or bench vice would make some parts of this job this job much easier.