mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Epic Shock Settings

I've messed with my settings quite a bit, moving levers, rotating knobs, etc...
    I'm tired of fiddling...what settings should an 07 epic have for a 205lb rider?

Front F100 fork... psi? compression clicks from full +? rebound clicks from full+?

Rear Fox shock...psi? compression clicks? rebound clicks?
    Brain...clicks from full firm?

I found 3 or 4 different "manuals" for the epic and they all seem to differ...and some dont even tell you a setting just what it does. I'm not a pro racer, so I wouldnt know how a bike should be properly setup( clicks), or how it SHOULD feel to handle at its best. I need help. I just started biking...but have been R/C racing for years...now I KNOW how a touring car should feel and what I need to do to get it to feel that way. I guess I just really need a good trail setup.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Lusus Naturae
    All info should be on the Fox website.

The Brain clicks are up to you. If its a rough trail, make it soft. If its firm and hard-packed and quick, I'd twist it to firm setting or close to it. I've had it full firm before and it works great for climbing up long fireroads.

CDB
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Set up the air pressure so that your static sag point is about 10-13% of the way into the travel. Depends on your preference for "feel" as well as terrain you ride in.

I prefer a quick rebounding shock, so that after a bump get's eaten up, I'm back extended and ready for another hit, rather than being still stuck down into the travel when the second bump hits me. Especially in the front, as you are lower and more over the front end when you sink into the travel on a steep rough descent. Some people might find that too much pogo stick action. I usually set my rebound damping rate such that i am about 1.5-2 on a scale of 1-10, 1 being very little drag on the shock travel and a very fast rebound rate.