Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Enduro SL - ride impressions

6K views 63 replies 25 participants last post by  Iceman2058 
#1 ·
I just picked up a leftover '07 Enduro SL Expert. I figured I'd log a few comments here as I go through the process of refining the ride - kind of a blog of my experience with this bike.

A bit of history:
I have been riding for 20 years or so, starting on a fully rigid bike making the "normal" transition through HTs and XC style FS bikes. My last bike was a Rocky Mountain Switch - which is a 6x6 machine - it weighs in at 36lbs or so with coil front and back. I've really enjoyed that bike and have even taken on a few all day epic rides. The thing I like about the Switch is how solid it feels rolling down the trail. It instills such confidence. The negative is the weight - especially on the longer rides I have started to realize just how much more work the heavier bike is.

I live in the NE US, trails are rocky, rooty and hilly, though not mountainous. A typical ride might be 15-20 miles long covered over 3 hours with 2000' of elevation gain. I seek out the longest hills I can find. I like the challenge of climbing techy steeps and the thrill of flying down hill - hitting anything I can find for air time. I don't huck much at all - maybe 3'. I've ridden out west and even some internationally and I'd put our riding here in CT up against anything I've ridden - though with all the trees the views around here are somewhat limited.