Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Enduro Evo VS Enduro Comp VS Stumpjumper FSR Comp

6K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  EHPhillips 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
I have been riding a 2002 Enduro Pro for nearly 12 years now and It looks like it is time to upgrade to something newer. I am kinda confused by all the different setups specialized is offering these days.

My first bike was a 98 FSR, I think this was before the name Enduro was even being used, and I bought the Enduro Pro brand new in 2002.

I also own a 2006 Big Hit for going on major shuttle runs, trips to the lifts (Mammoth and Big Bear here in SoCal) so my Enduro is used for local riding in San Diego, a good mixture of climbing and technical descending. My Enduro has served me well, over the years I upgraded many things so the fork is now a Rock Shox Revelation 160mm so when fully extended I get a slightly slacker head angle than with the stock Psylo's that came on it.

I think 160 - 170mm is probably perfect for my typical riding, I am not concerned with being the fastest climber out there, I just really want to enjoy the downhill as best as I can.

Just based on travel alone I am seeing this:

Stumpjumper FSR Comp - 150mm
Enduro Comp - 165mm
Enduro EVO - 180mm

This makes me think the EVO is going to lean way more to all mountain/downhill type riding and might be a beast to climb with, but how much of a difference am I going to see in the EVO vs the Comp....

Thanks for any opinions you can leave for me.

See less See more
#2 ·
The Enduro Evo is a beast ripping downhill, but not fun to climb with. Its a 36lb bike with soft suspension and no way to firm it up for the climb. Its hard to recommend it as a trail bike if lots of climbing is involved.