Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Enduro Comp vs. SX Trail

6K views 34 replies 12 participants last post by  afp3 
#1 ·
I have been riding my 2011 enduro comp for about 5 months now and so far the bike has been performing the way i thought and coming off of a 2005 hardrock you can't even compare. However, I am finding now that this bike can handle more than my Hardrock can I find myself pushing more and more and now I am starting to feel like things are starting to be pushed slightly to there limits. I am 165 lbs at most and everything is stoock on the bike except for bars and stem. I am finding i am blowing through the suspension rather easy and it feels like the back end wallows a tad.

I hate having buyers remorse especially after dropping $2500.00 on a bike I had to scrape for but now I am wishing i had done a little more research and maybe waited and saved for an SX.

anyone have an Enduro that they can shed some help on to stiffen it up? Is the SX and Enduro that much of a difference?

#2 ·
you could put the new mission control compression damper along with the dual flow rebound in your fork.
the high speed compression should keep you from blowing through the travel so quick. for the rear you could swap out the rp2 for an new rp23 which i have heard is a little more progressive. or go with the DHX Air 5.0 which has bottom out progressiveness and bottom out force adjustments.

all i know about the sx trail is that the head angle is 65.5* v 66.5* the wheelbase is 15mm longer and runs a coilover rear shock, fox van on the complete build w/o bottom out control, dhx rc4 on the frameset w/ bottom out adjustment. and you get 20mm more travel.

you could do the upgrades to your suspension for about 600, or buy a new frameset and fork and swap all your parts over...

#3 ·