mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Dent on downtube!!

Hi everyone- I have a small dime sized dent on the side of the downtube of my Enduro SL. Its very shallow and smooth- no signs of stress on the aluminum or paint. Should I be concerned or is it just cosmetic?? Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Forging Elite Awesomeness
    From the looks of your pics, I'd say cosmetic.

mtbr member
    Don`t worry about that nick!
    But Alu bikes should be check while cleaning, for cracks near the weld zone (once in a month or so!)

Imagine if it was a carbon frame - then there would be some problems. CFRP don`t deform, but shocks that made that dent can brake internal layers (carbon filaments on the CFRP).
    With use, this fragility could lead to rupture.

Planes fly with bigger dents!

Wil109
    I concur with Tkul,

I was a military flight servicing mechanic on fast fighter jets a few years back and they do fly with bigger dents, in certain areas. I'm surprised thats the only dent you have, my SL has dents from the rubber stoppers on the fork that are bigger than the one you have posted here. Like Tkul says cracks and guages near the welds are a big cause for concern.

Wil
    [SIZE=1]I love my bike and my bike loves me[/SIZE]

mtbr member
    Hi Wil!

Could you tell what fighters did you work?

This is all about tube thickness. At the moment, using the technology available (hidrforming, butted tubes and various aluminum alloys) it`s impossible to make a very light / rigid / strong enough on impacts -> IMO.

Spec. Enduros come close to the 13 kg, and has 150 mm travel (f%r) with double crown forks.

Thats fantastic, I think and to achieve this kind of goals you have to go the "less is better" meaning less material/less thickness.