mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Control Tires - Rips from bead

Is this a normal issue with control tires? I have only ran DH or SX casing in the past with no issues and first go at Controls, Front and Rear ripped from the bead.

Butcher front & Purgatory in the back.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Control Tires - Rips from bead-photo-1-1-.jpg  

Control Tires - Rips from bead-photo-2-1-.jpg  

Control Tires - Rips from bead-photo-3-1-.jpg  

mtbr member
    Obviously, not a normal issue for these tires. Looks like you hit something and dinged the rim and the tire.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Rims are carbon so can't ding. There is no evidence of hit/damage to the rim either so I can assure you there is no impact to it and the photos you are seeing are 3 different rips on both tires.

Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Obviously, not a normal issue for these tires. Looks like you hit something and dinged the rim and the tire.

Rider, Builder, Dreamer
    The control casing is a single ply casing and a light one at that. I was having the same troubles. I lo e how the tires perform but keep rilling out the sidewall under the rim. I terestingly enough, I have only had troubles when running them tubeless. He tube adds just enough structure to prevent tears and rolling out.

Try the armadillo or grid UST versions of those tires.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Cheers. I don't think butchers come in the casing you recommend? As far as I am aware they only come DH/SX/Control.

I really want to stick to this tire as I run them on my Demo (DH casing). I not only love the performance, but is great to have the same feel on the front tire on my Enduro as I do on the Demo but with lighter weight.

I was running Tubes (I always do) which is lucky as otherwise I would've had a flat on the spot. I just took them off today and took further pics as per below.