mtbr member

New question here. Chipped Paint a concern?

My Stumpjumper Comp Carbon 29er has a chip in the top tube. Is this going to get worse? Is this covered by the warranty? Should I be doing something about this?

This is my first carbon bike and I don't want it to get messed up. I'm not sure where this chip came from as nothing ever touches my bike in this spot...

Chipped Paint a concern?-img_20130609_094448%5B1%5D.jpg
    2012 Fianceť
    2011 Spc SJ Cmp Crbn 29
    2010 Fantom Cross Outlaw
    2009 Spc RH Exprt Disc 29
    2008 Trek Fuel EX7
    2007 Spc RH

Dirt Junkie
    I'm no expert, but that doesn't look like a problem. I would guess it has something to do with your rack though. Looks pretty close to the location of the strap.

Just a guess. If you're really concerned, ask the dealer.

Rock.
    How can anyone who's been riding as long as I have, be so slow???

mtbr member
    Just based on the spot where the chip is, it looks like the handlebars were turned around and the shifters chipped the paint. Like Rock said, you can ask the dealer about it. They also sell protective clear stickers that go in that location to prevent that very thing, for when you crash and the bars spin around.

mtbr member
    Thanks for your replies. Its actually on the bike rack in the picture. Those are rubber straps that grab the tube. They would not have done this. Also, on spinning the handlebars I don't think anything touches the tube either. The tube has a slight down angle to it. In fact I know it does not touch because if I don't strap the front tire in during travel, the bar will spin until the cables come taut.

I will take it in as advised. I'm not too worried about it in its present form, I just don't want it to grow.
    2012 Fianceť
    2011 Spc SJ Cmp Crbn 29
    2010 Fantom Cross Outlaw
    2009 Spc RH Exprt Disc 29
    2008 Trek Fuel EX7
    2007 Spc RH

mtbr member