mtbr member

Building a 2006 Specialized Enduro Elite on a budget

Documenting my budget build of a 2006 Enduro Elite. I am fairly new to the mountain bike scene and upgrading from a 2010 Hardrock disc to an as inexpenisve as possible Enduro Elite.

Ill keep this up to date on my progress and any help or suggsetions would be great!

Started out picking up a used frame from ebay.

Seller claimed it had some rear triangle damage and I was hoping he was a bike snob and they would be minor and ridable or repairable at least. Took a chance.

Unfortunalty it is as bad as described. Probably repairable but Im not sure what Im going to do on that. Leaning to replacing the rear altogether.

As for parts....

Im planning to source several parts from my Hardrock and then find deals on others.

Fist purchase was the rear shock. 2007 never used Fox Float RP3.

Second purchase: Used set of Avid Juicy 7s from online. (wheels and rotors will come from Hardrock)

Third Purchase: New, but from a private owner, Race face double crankeset with bash and bottom bracket.

Jenson order arrived!!! Nothing very top of the line but its getting exciting and close!!!

Rear triangle finally installed. Rear pivot (near the drop outs) bearings were the biggest nightmare ever. After about 4 hours and 2 trips to LBS got 3 new ones and 1 used one installed. Fork installed, that took only a few minutes.

Last edited by eleminohpee; 03-11-2011 at 02:44 PM.

mtbr member
    Made a order for most parts needed from JensonUSA. Hopefully will arrive before the weekend!!

mtbr member