mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Which Bike for Trail Riding and Occasional Enduro Racing?

Hello fellow Specialized riders,

I graduated from Syracuse University this past May as a mechanical Engineer. I've been working as an intern for the past three months for a small engineering company, and expect to be hired as a mechanical design engineer/test engineer in about a month, which means I'll finally have some disposable income.

I started mountain biking 4 years ago on a 26" 2010 Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc. Over the years I've done a lot of upgrades on my bike that have made it into a capable trail hardtail as opposed to the more recreational and xc build that it came as stock. Riding from the very beginning and for the past 4 years on a 26" hardtail has made me a better rider, I had to learn proper mountain biking skills and pick smart lines, but I'm itching for something that can take my riding to the next level.

Now that both the 2014 models are out and some of the 2013 models remain at great prices I'm seriously thinking of picking up a new Specialized mountain bike. I was hoping to get some advice as to which models I should consider, ask about at my LBS, and test ride.

I want to use the bike for weekend trail rides (2+ hours and 10+ miles) in New England primarily Massachusetts and New Hampshire, but I'll occasionally travel to Vermont and Upstate New York. I'd also like to be able to get into enduro racing with this bike, it looks like a lot of fun and is something I've been wanting to try for a while. My riding style is fast and loose on the descents, so I'd like a bike that compliments that sort of riding style. I'm about 5' 9.5" and weigh about 170lbs if that makes a difference.

Here's what I'm looking at as my possible choices:

- Camber
    - Camber EVO
    - StumpJumper FSR 26
    - StumpJumper FSR 29
    - StumpJumper FSR EVO 26
    - StumpJumper FSR EVO 29
    - Enduro 26
    - Enduro 29