mtbr member

New question here. Base model 2014 Camber 29er

Went in to the local LBS today - they're having a big spring sale on lots of 2014 models - and came across the Specialized Camber 29er, base model. I'm new to the sport and my budget is capped at about $1800 +/- a small amount and so after riding this and the Trek Fuel EX5 I put a deposit down on the Camber, mostly because the two felt pretty similar to me and the Camber was less $.

BUT, coming home and reading up on it, the 2014 Camber is getting not-so-hot reviews b/c of its fork. Is it really that bad? I'm not familiar with the tech yet (still learning!). Should I deal with it and save up for a better fork or scrap the purchase entirely and get my deposit back?

I suppose I'm asking for opinions on those who have ridden the base model Camber and whether or not the spec is worth the $

Thanks!

Specialized Bicycle Components

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I was actually affended when I walked into a bike shop and saw that on the floor. Its worth it to wait and save up and go to the next model

mtbr member
    Yes but what makes is so "offensive"? Is it just a low-quality fork (i.e. will I end up replacing it after the first few dozen miles?).

Remember, I don't know helluva lot about what I'm riding on yet...I just don't have the experience to make any kind of comparison.

How does the rest of the part spec stand up, fork aside?

There's always next year.
    First question: what did you think of the fork (and the rest of the bike)? I'm assuming you've had some time on the bike, as you threw down a deposit. If it felt fine to you, then you should be fine, especially as you learn the ropes of the sport. If you didn't like the feel of the fork:

A)Ask the shop how much it would be for them to trade out the fork and get a nicer, lower end RockShox or such installed using all of your budgeted money.