mtbr member
    Aug 2006

avid 7 problem...part II?

Hi all-

I'm pretty new to hydraulic brake maintenance (had v-brakes forever) and I can't figure out what's wrong with mine. I bought a new SJ elite a few weeks ago and have had problems since the beginning. My main problem is that the piston in the caliper never seem to go all the way back in after i apply the brake. For the past couple weeks i've had a problem with the rotor rubbing against the brake pad. I finally got the caliper adjusted right, and then as soon as I applied the brake, the piston came out to make contact with the disc, and then went back in, but only half way, thus leaving me with rub again.

The same happens in the rear. I tried to fix them today, but ran into some trouble. I had the pads off and used the brake lever to see how far out the piston would go, and sure enough i cranked the piston right out of the socket it sits in. I lost some brake fluid while it was out, and even though i pushed it back in and put the pads back on, i get no response from that brake now.

How do i go about fixing the rear brake, and what is the problem with the piston in the front not retracting?!

--Brandon

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Bwalen
    Hi all-

I'm pretty new to hydraulic brake maintenance (had v-brakes forever) and I can't figure out what's wrong with mine. I bought a new SJ elite a few weeks ago and have had problems since the beginning. My main problem is that the piston in the caliper never seem to go all the way back in after i apply the brake. For the past couple weeks i've had a problem with the rotor rubbing against the brake pad. I finally got the caliper adjusted right, and then as soon as I applied the brake, the piston came out to make contact with the disc, and then went back in, but only half way, thus leaving me with rub again.