yep

2013 Enduro chain length?

Hey guys. So last month I got myself a new 2013 Enduro Comp. It's my first bike and I'm very new to all the mechanics of a bike.

Well I noticed right away that when I'm on the small chainring and the small cog, my chain touches itself(happens on the 2nd smallest as well). Now I know not to "cross chain" and be on small/small or big/big, and I've been training myself to avoid that. But it still bothers me that it touches, and after posting the issue on the drivetrain forum, the general consensus was that my chain was too long.

So today I decided to take a link out, but me being the inexperienced mechanic I am, I forgot that in order to shorten it, you have to take two links out. So I ended up taking two, and now I just want to make sure my chain isn't too short. I know that they have to be a certain length since the distance lengthens when the suspension travels.

Here's the before on small/small. http://i.imgur.com/LAsUw0k.jpg

Here's the after on big/big. http://i.imgur.com/tsJq3Si.jpg

I'm not going to ride on the big/big combo, but I'm still looking for input as to whether or not it's a correct length now, or if I've caused a problem by shortening it.

Anyone else with a Large Enduro have a count on how many links is in their chain?

Thanks. I appreciate the help.

mtbr member

Re: 2013 Enduro chain length?

I have a 2011 comp and I don't think I have ever, nor would I ride with it in small front and rear at the same time. I would be more concerned with my big, big position, I use that all the time and it looks like your chain is too short now.

adamant
    Sep 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by innovator8 View Post
    I have a 2011 comp and I don't think I have ever, nor would I ride with it in small front and rear at the same time. I would be more concerned with my big, big position, I use that all the time and it looks like your chain is too short now.
    Agree