Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

2012 Carve Pro vs SJ Comp 29

I am ready to purchase a new bike and find myself jumping up in levels everytime I do more research. At first I was set on getting the Carve Comp, then research has worked me all the way up to the Pro.

Now the Carve Pro has an MSRP of 2000 so that leads me to wonder if I should spend the extra 200 and get the SJ Comp 29. The SJ all together is much lighter and from what I can see also has better components.

I know some people are gonna say 'Get which ever one that feels the best'. But I am out of town at work and can't ride either until I go home in a few weeks.

So based on your guys' personal experiences with each, and with the components on each, I would like your personal opinions to help steer me in the right direction.

And just so you know, I am kinda new to riding I guess you could say. I've ridden a MTN bike most of my life but never anything serious. But I am wanting to get more serious and want a bike that will hold up and I won't want/need to upgrade major components anytime soon. I also am 6' and 260 lbs. so I need a bike that will hold up to my weight.

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I just talked to a guy at my LBS and he likes both bikes and feels that the two feel very similar when ridden in comparison to the geometry. Now for just 200 more I feel the SJ is the better deal, but I still wanna ride both first to make sure I make the right decision.

Here's a link to the comparison between the two:
    Specialized Bicycle Components

Trail Rider
    Jun 2009
    I'd go with the SJ.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by SuPrBuGmAn View Post
    I'd go with the SJ.
    But why though? What are your experiences with the two? Or even just one.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Well, based on the specs, the SJ is better spec-ed than the Carve in almost every aspect (depends how you feel about Avid brakes).