Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2008

2011 S-Works Epic XX Brakes- Feedback wanted

I've been riding my new 2011 S-Works Epic for a couple months now and (as expected) this is the best riding bike I have ever ridden. Before I bought the bike, I looked over the spec's. to see what I thought that I needed to change. I couldn't come up with anything that absolutely needed to be changed immediately (besides cutting down the bars).
    After only a couple rides I noticed that my brakes felt a bit "gritty" like there was sand or something between the pads and that their stopping power was reduced. They also started squeaking. None of which I expected from a $10,000 purchase. I took my bike back to the shop for a slight tune-up because my bottom bracket was making a creaking noise, and the tech asked me what was up with my brakes. He said they felt horrible.
    Has anybody else with this bike had any similar issues?
    I was at a race last weekend and noticed a guy with the same bike who was running the new XTR brakes. I asked him about the change and he said that he was having similar issues, so he swapped brakes and his new XTR brakes have been flawless and work much better than the Avid/XX that came on the bike.
    I ran XTR discs on my previous bike and never had any issues with them. What do you guys think? Are the stock brakes crap, or is it just me? Has anybody else had a creaking noise coming from the bottom bracket area? The LBS said that with the new BB-30, there is nothing to tighten. If that's the case, where is the noise coming from?

old fart
    Mar 2010