mtbr member
    Oct 2010

2010 RH 29er vs 2011 RH 29er

My LBS has a floor model 2010 RH 29er in my size, 15 inch for $710 plus tax. I rode it and loved it but the back brake rotor look a bit worn to me--had black marks. Plus the disk brakes are mechanical.

For 2011 the RH 29er comp, base model, has HYD disk brakes and a 15.5 frame but cost $940 plus tax.

I was looking on ebay and a set of Juicy 3 brakes are around $150, looks like everything you need to swap over. If I want to get those brakes on a 2011 RH 29er I have to get the Pro model for $1,400--ouch, that is too much for me.

But I am a newbie and not sure what is the best deal. I am very mechanical incline and love working on my old hot rod car--can do just about everything expect rebuild my trans--and maybe could if I had the right tools for the job.

So I am thinking of buying a bike and upgrading the parts as stuff wears out but unsure what bike to buy. A 2010 floor model, a 2011 Comp 29er or save my dollars and just get the Pro 2011 29er for $1,400

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    The 2010 has:

FRONT DERAILLEUR
    Shimano Altus, 34.9mm clamp

REAR DERAILLEUR
    SRAM X-5, mid cage

SHIFT LEVERS
    SRAM X4-R trigger

CASSETTE
    SRAM PG-830, 8-speed, 11-32t

CHAIN
    KMC X8 w/ reuseable Missing Link

CRANKSET
    SR SunTour, Octalink spline

FORK
    RockShox Dart 3 SL for 29" wheel

THE 2011 Has:

FRONT DERAILLEUR
    Shimano Alivo, 34.9mm clamp, top swing, dual pull

REAR DERAILLEUR
    Shimano Alivio, 9sp direct mount Long cage

SHIFT LEVERS
    Shimano Alivo SL, rapid fire trigger

CASSETTE
    Shimano HG30, 9-speed, 11-34t

CHAIN
    KMC X9 w/ reusable Missing Link

CRANKSET
    Shimano FC-M430-8, Octalink spline

FORK
    SR Suntour SF11-XCR-DS-29-LO-SP

Brakes I'm not worrying about.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Looks like my question has already been ask, I would delete this post but can not, sorry.

Specialized Rockhopper 29er

Specialized Rockhopper 29er

mtbr member