Thread: 2006 Epic Disc

mtbr member
    Nov 2011

2006 Epic Disc

Ok, so I'm looking to get into a FS on a poor college student budget lol. This kid from school is willing to sell his epic disc for what seems to be a pretty reasonable price.

Is there anything I should look at for excessive wear? I already have a specialized hardtail. I know its a tank. However I'm a noob in the FS world.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I have a 2004 Epic which I think is essentially the same frame design as the 2006. Things I would look for:

Check that the Brain keeps the rear shock locked out when stationary and opens up when hitting a bump. (Brains are filled with nitrogen and need to be serviced by Specialized. Over time they lose their charge and thus ability to keep the shock locked out -- at least mine did. After a rebuild it was like new.) Lean on the seat with the bike stationary and it should have just a little sag. Lift the rear and drop it, lean again on the seat quickly and the shock should be active. (2006 Brains may have had a bump threshold to adjust sensitivity - not sure.)

Check all the suspension pivot bearings for excessive play. This depends on how many miles are on the bike. I had to replace mine as they wore out.

Ask if the fork has been serviced regularly (like at least every other season). Check the lockout if equipped.

Obviously check all other typical components for exessive wear: cassette, chain, chainrings, bottom bracket, headset, cables and housings, etc. All these things need regular maintenance. Check for any frame damage (especially derailleur hanger area - mine cracked in that area and Specialized replaced the rear triangle under warranty).

My 2004 was a fabulous bike that I rode and raced for years and put a ton of miles on until replacing it (with another Epic!) just last season. I still ride it from time to time.
    Last edited by Burning Matches; 01-26-2012 at 02:43 PM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011