12x142+...i've read a lot, but I'm still lost.

okay I'm wanting to get a new wheelset for my 2012 Camber 29er, but this whole 142+ is driving me nuts.

I've researched and looked through all the threads. Before I pull the trigger and buy a pricey wheelset I just have a couple of questions.

Does the rear wheel have to have 142+ spacing?
    Will any 12x142 rear hub wheelset fit my Camber?

Right now I'm looking at:

Roval Control Trail SL 29" 142+ (cause I know it will fit)
    Easton Haven Carbon 29"
    Easton EC90 XC
    Custom build a wheelset with 12x142 Chris King rear hub (friend is going to help me with that)

I like the Rovals, but the other options seem pretty nice too.
    With all the knowledge I have acquired in the past 72 hours, it seems like these should all work. Right?

Sorry for beating a dead horse, but I'm a newbie when it comes to parts. I'm slowly learning.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Yes, any 12x142 will fit, doesn't need to be 142+. But your original 142+ rear wheel that comes with the bike, only will fit bikes with 142+ frames (in reality, only Specialized). As on the 142+ the cassette is moved few millimeters outwards, so on non-Specialized frames it might be too close to the chainstay.

If you'd go with a standard 12x142 wheelset, and you'd like to have the original rear wheel as a spare, the downside is that you'll need to adjust rear derailleur, due to the cassette spacing. If you have two 142+ wheels, they are instantly exchangeable. I know this personally, as I have Roval Control 29 (142) and the original Epic rear wheel which is 142+, so finetuning is required when swapping.

Carbon & Ti rule
    Quote Originally Posted by ssio View Post