Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    CDB
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

08 Stumpy 29er - size 19"

I finally got my new bike on Monday. Even though the weather hasn't been great, I have managed to get it out and dirty a few times. I was quite impressed, and definitely noticed some immediate characteristics. Whether I will choose this bike for any races, I will wait and see. For now, I am still learning about whether it is right for me.

Firstly, I definitely will need to build up a light tubeless wheelset to make it race worthy. I'm doing a Stans Notubes 355/WTB Laserlite setup. Will be trying to determine which tire will work best. I really noticed the heavier wheels while accelerating or short climbs, but during steady efforts, no perceived difference.

Secondly, I noticed how well the front wheel tracks on steep muddy ruts. I think it is partly due to the elongated tire contact patch. Compared to all the muddy riding I did over the weekend with my Epic, it was instantly noticeable.

Third, I was doing some steeper gravel road climbing, and came across some large crushed rock in the 2-4" size. It was really noticeable how the bike rolled over stuff more easily compared to 26er. This is something many have previously mentioned, but until you experience it first hand, it is really significant and hard to explain.

I set up my 29er to be identical to my Epic 26er. Or, at least attempted to. Even with my stem in negative rise position, and with the lowest wedge shims in, I still couldn't get my bars low enough. I figure I'll give it a shot as-is, even though bars are about 3/4" taller than usual.