Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

07 Stumpy FSR elite noises

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  cooleymtnbiker1 
#1 · (Edited)
I have about 200 miles on my stumpy now and man that bike has turned into a noisy bieach. The crank is creaking. I have taken out the crank and bearings. cleaned and relubed everything in there and the noise is still there. Am I missing something? What else can it be?
Also when peddling (Not using the brakes) THe rear brakes squeek..I know it is them because I can slighty pull the lever in and it gets worse. I have adjusted the brake pads all the way in and they are still noisy. I am on my second set of brake pads. The noise went away for 1 ride but now it is back. What am i missing on that?
I would bring it back to the store I bought it from but I didnt buy it anywhere close to me.
Thanks

#2 ·
Mine is still behaving nicely, I've been running it for three months straight with only a little brake noise to complain about (that and it doesn't fit on my car rack properly). Have you tried using Organic compound brake pads, they seem to solve a lot of issues for people? Maybe a little Loctite 242 (removable blue kind) on the BB threads will help it shut-up, I needed to put a little on my road rig to silence the BB.

#3 ·
Creaks n things

Hi Vinnyl26,