mtbr member
    Feb 2007

07 SJ Pro or 07 SJ Expert

Hello,

I need your help deciding. I'm thinking of getting either a 07 SJ Pro or 07 SJ Expert.

1) Is the new brain and shock on the Pro way better than the one on the Expert?
    2) I test drove both, why do the brakes on the Expert squeak (didn't like that).
    3) Will the brakes on the Pro fade since they use mineral oil?
    4) Shifting seemed more precised on the Pro.

I'm new to MTB riding, but once I test drove the stumpjumper on parking lot and off the curb, I didn't want to get off it. Funny I went to look at the Rockhopper.

Should I just get the Expert and save the extra cash? Or is the new shock, Mag brakes, worth the extra cash?

Thanks for the input.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    bump

z71
    mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    The Pro is nice if you have the extra money. To me I did not think it was worth the extra money sure the Magura brakes are nice but not that nice for the bigger price jump. I love my Fox brain shock and there will be people who like the Specialized shock. To me I like having both front and rear Fox shocks. What ever you choose you will not be disapointed they both ride awsome.Once you ride with a Brain shock you will never go back to a regular rear shock.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007