Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Binghamton '14
    Nov 2009

05 Rockhopper upgrade help?

I recently got an 05 Rockhopper (someone threw it out at the scrapyard my dad works at), and i am looking to upgrade to disc brakes. I would like to do this as cheap as possible with used parts, but im new to biking and not to good with whats what in the industry. Any help doing this would be helpful.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnsD90
    I recently got an 05 Rockhopper (someone threw it out at the scrapyard my dad works at), and i am looking to upgrade to disc brakes. I would like to do this as cheap as possible with used parts, but im new to biking and not to good with whats what in the industry. Any help doing this would be helpful.
    Congratulations on your new bike! Here's my two cents.

Unless the brakes that are currently on the Rockhopper are busted/beyond repair. I would suggest keeping them.

Don't fall into the hype of disc brakes. Discs are better than rim brakes in a few situations (first and foremost mud, but also if you're hitting your rim a lot), but a set of well adjusted rim brakes will function fine and work fine for someone just getting into biking. Super cheap disc brakes won't be any better than decent rims and BB7s,arguably the standard mechanical disc brakes, go for about $50 per caliper.

If the brakes aren't working right, take it to your local bike shop and have them do a few adjustments (probably just be cable tension), or better yet do it yourself; there are a lot of online guides to bike maintenance; sheldon brown, park tools, or utahmtbers, just to name a few.

For now save your money, enjoy your new bike and if you like biking enough you can get a better equipped bike.

Binghamton '14
    Nov 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Renovatio
    Congratulations on your new bike! Here's my two cents.

Unless the brakes that are currently on the Rockhopper are busted/beyond repair. I would suggest keeping them.