mtbr member
    Oct 2005

05 base Rockhopper or 06 Hardrock Comp Disk.

I am new to the MTB scene and I know already what the bikes are for and both would do the job . My question is do I go for the rockhopper which feels solid and much lighter and cheaper at $399 or should I go for the 06 Rockhopper comp disc? What's appeling about the 06 Hardrock is all the extra's you get like the disk brakes and the good fork and the Sram derailers, I really wouldnt have to do much as far as upgrades for the Hardrock comp disk but it is also $200 more than the 05 Rockhopper and much heavier.

Over all, which bike is a better buy and one that I will be happer with on 40% urban 60% trail riding.

I live Inner Houston and will make the occasional trip to some Austin trials,just to give you an idea of my biking scenario.

TXAG
    Oct 2005
    Hey man I am hopefully going to be buying a Rockhopper in the next couple months. I have ridden both and I just like the Rockhopper a little better. The discs on the Hardrock are really not all that great either. I also live in Houston and ride the anthills all the time. I would go with the rockhopper if you can spend the cash. Either way, just get out and ride whatever you can.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I have had 2 RockHopper Disc's 04, then 05 - about to get my 3rd the '06 (don't ask why)
    but it's very robust. Im a novice but ride it hard over hard rock / ground or roots.
    It's not let me down once apart from a broken Drop Bar (still don't know how)

So if you can upgrade to RockHopper Disc - I would
    If not leave the Hardrock and get the base RockHopper - good frame
    Steve

mtbr member
    Oct 2005

05 Rockhopper or 06 Hardrock Comp Disk