mtbr member
    Sep 2004

'04 Stumpy FSR Pro Frame - A couple 'o questions

I'm contemplating purchasing an 2004 Stumpy frame and doing a build over the next couple of months to ease the boredom of a Canadian winter.

First question.......I have a rather gnome like body, I'm about 5' 9" but have short legs, probably a 29" inseam. The frame I'm looking at is 18" and I'm wondering if that's going to be OK in terms of fit. My current hardtail is an 18" frame but I'm wondering if a FS bike fits differently.

Second question.....is there anything specific I need to look for with this particular frame in terms of problem areas etc.. I've never owned a full suspension bike and I've never done a build before so any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    I ride an '04 stumpy FSR. I'm 5' 9.5" with 32" inseam. My bike frame is a medium, not sure about the inches. I believe I'm on the upper end for a medium size. I don't know of any problem areas, but I had to buy new bushings and reducers for the rear shock mount at the end of last year. I think that is normal bike wear, though. Hope that is helpful!

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    I ride an '04 SJ FSR XC size large. I'm 6'4" with about 35.5" inseam (typically 34" in "jeans-size"). I don't think they measured the '04s in inches. I had a HT that was supposed to be 21" and the SJ is a little bit smaller. It is also a little bit smaller than my friends Rockhopper 21" (model '03 or '04). I think 18" sounds about right for you, but I have noticed that a lot of people in the US use the Large, even if they are 4" shorter than me.

mtbr member
    I built up my 04 SJ Pro as a frame also, no problems at all, even with the dreaded Triad.
    I'm about an inch shorter than you and I run a medium. Like Ace Venture says, "Like a glove".

Lou.
    04 Stumpjumper FSR Pro
    Airborne Ti HT
    Trek Rigid SS - No suspension, no gears....no problem

mtbr member
    Sep 2004