mtbr member
    Jul 2007

New question here. Trails in SE Tennessee, SW NC and northern Georgia?

Greetings!

A friend and I are looking to take a trip in two weeks through Chattanooga, northern Georgia and southwestern North Carolina, and we'd like to get some advice from the locals on the most epic trails to ride in these areas. We'll have about five days of riding, so we'd like to narrow down our options a bit.

We're looking for longer rides, although stringing together a few smaller trails in a single day works as well. Trails with lots of technical features won't scare us off as we're from central Texas, where rocks spring forth out of the ground like weeds. Fast, flowy singletrack is also good, climbs are good, we're all for variety.

Many thanks in advance for any advice!

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I have been riding in the Southeast for 17 years.

I am not sure that there is anything that I haven't ridden at this point.

In TN:
    Raccoon*
    White Oak Mtn
    Tanasi
    Chilhowee

In N GA
    Pinhotti
    Snake
    Stanley*

In WNC
    PISGAH!!!!
    Dupont

There is nothing else that compares to Pisgah. There are tons of loing epic routes that include awesome back country downhills.

Don't discount Alabama. Oak Mtn, Monte Sano, adn Coldwater are all awesome.

I starred the ones that I think are best. Everything on the list, I have ridden many times.

From the list of the other post, I would skip Tsali and Bull Mtn. Not bad, and mtn bike history, but better stuff is available these days.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Thanks for the advice thus far! We'll research all of the above trails--I remember reading about Pisgah before (when we were looking over all the IMBA Epic trails), but that's about four hours east of Chattanooga, so not sure we'll make it out that far.

mtbr member