mtbr member
    May 2010

singletrack etiquette: riding in the wet

As we all know it rains a lot during the summer (especially down here in so fla). What is the deal with riding in the wet... frowned upon? okay? prohibited?

p.s. im a mountain bike newbie

thanks

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Get muddy.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    There's no consensus on this and you're opening up a pandoras box on flame wars.

The state parks do not have a "law" that says it's illegal/prohibited to ride during the rain or right after. Some local organizations might post signs that tell you not to ride in the rain or within 24 hours. Those signs have no legal merit but if they're kind enough to ASK you, why not comply.

Personally if I'm at the trail and I want to ride, I'll ride. During the rain I usually go to the sandy trails which are way more fun to ride in the rain or right after. There are plenty of those around here.

Your choice.

mtbr member
    After seeing the impact on a few trails around here I frown upon riding certain trails in/after heavy rain.

It really depends on the trails though. Up here in Central FL it is hit or miss. Some hold up to rain better than others. Obviously the lower lying trails that easily flood should be avoided until they get some time to dry out. Same goes for trails that easily wash out or ones that are primarily clay (stuff gets super slippery/sloppy after rain).
    Signature

banned
    I really love riding in the mud. Get out and ride, who gives a damn what anyone else thinks. Unless a trail is getting a huge amount of traffic when it's wet, the damage is usually exaggerated by groups that think they hold some sort of "authority".(they don't btw)

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    FTP tends to get some deep mud holes if it is rode when it is very wet and muddy. The deeper they get the longer they take to dry up. BUT there is some mud holes out there most of the time.