mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Question/concern for the Balm Boyette locals

I have recently taken up the sport of mountain biking, and it has become an addiction. I am planning on attending the fat tire festival in November and joining swamp club. I live in Ellenton, which is about 30 minutes from Balm and Alafia. My first trip was to Balm Boyette, and it was sooooo much fun. I loved it, but I have not returned. I do Alafia about 3 times a week, and purchased the annual pass.

I am a local police officer, and the only thing I could think of when I left my car for the 2 mile trek into the trail system, is my car getting burglarized, to the point where it was hard to enjoy myself. I think about just emptying out my car and leaving it unlocked so I dont return to a broken window the next time I return, were someone to go snooping.

My question, Are there a lot of vehicle burglaries at Balm? I hope not, but it seems like prime hunting ground for people looking.

mtbr member
    I've never had any problems while parking there, nor have I heard of any. Doesn't mean that it can't happen though.
    '14 Scott Genius 730 650b
    '14 Niner ROS9 HT 1x10

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    There have been a few breakins that I've heard about, but not in quite awhile. I think on the weekends that place is so busy that it is pretty safe. But during the week when you are the only one there is when I'd be wary. A few years ago I got back to the parking area and a guy had his car stolen. He used one of those hide-a-key deals and the thief found the key. That would suck!
    AKA: Slowfatguy

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Thanks guys. Thats my problem, I usually go on weekdays, because I am off, and its less crowded. But the thought of my car being the only one there, seems like a recipe for a break in. Plus I drive an xterra, so I really cant lock stuff in my trunk. May be better ogg stashing my belongings in the bushes along the trail and just leaving th truck open.

XXIX