Twin Six METAL

Newbie bike and rental questions (Womens input needed)

Okay, so I'm not a newbie, but my wife is. This past weekend was great, I got her out onto the trails with me and we had a great time. We went to Elvis Presley Lakes, thanks to the recommendation of Dex, Thanks Dex. It was a great trail, not too hard, short climbs. But I didn't think the ride was fair. While I'm 180 lbs and riding a sub 24 lb full suspension, my wife was left to agonize on all the hills using her 110 lb body to push a 33 lb hardtail along the trail. Just doesn't seem fair, does it?

Okay so I'm looking to hook her up with a much nicer ride. But I'm not sure what to get her, not sure what will fit her the best. Does anyone know where I can rent a Santa Cruz Juliana, or a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Womens? These are the best women specific design bikes on the market, and I'd like to see if they fit her well.

Here's the deal though, many of us have made the jump from hardtail to full suspension. Some of us claim that we are better riders due to the switch. But how much weight is it worth to gain the performance? Would you rather have a really nice lightweight (22-25 lb) hardtail, or a nice full suspension (27-28 lbs)?

Let me know,
    SWP

consistent default champ

Depends on her biking goals

If she is just riding for fun and would rather be comfortable than fast, go with the FS. I have had lots of others say it is easier to learn a new trick on a FS than a HT.
    If she is going to need speed (like for racing) than I would say the hard tail. It teaches you to get out of the saddle if nothing else!

I can't help with the rental because I am in SC. I have only rented a Kona one time to see if I like riding or not.

mtbr member