mtbr member
    Dec 2007

... and if we just ... Interested in Mountain Unicycling (muni)? Free lessons, look here:

Okay, so we are few, but we are proud, muni is the bastard stepchild, red hair and all, of off road biking. As strange as it seems, you can actually learn to ride a unicycle well enough to conquer mountain bike trails.

I live in the Knoxville area, ride all over the Southeast, mostly just me and the dogs. I am always looking to teach muni to bikers in hopes that it will spark enough interest that they'll ditch the "training wheels" and take up the muni mantle.

My son and I started riding three years ago, initially as a joke, but what started as a stoopid pet trick has turned into my number one sport. I'll admit to having once been an avid mountain biker, single speeder, 29er, but since learning to ride a unicycle I no longer ride a bike; I no longer own a bike

So, about learning to ride a unicycle: Yes Virginia, unicycling is hard. It has an incredibly flat learning curve, probably on par with learning to play a musical instrument. That said, anyone who can walk down stairs, can also ride a uni. I ride an average of three to four times a week, been doing that since learning to ride a uni. In that time I have developed enough skill that I can ride all the trails at places like Raccon Mountain, Haw Ridge, etc...

Okay, so you're interetsed in learning?

I offer free lessons, that's right FREE, all you gotta do is send me a PM and let me know where you live, then it's just a matter of meeting up and giving it a try.

There are some great resources on the web inclucing the world renowned unicyclist forum: Unicyclist Community - Powered by vBulletin

A local website site I'm building for a muni event in May 2012: https://sites.google.com/site/southeastmuni/

The Preeminent unicycle vendor (located in Atlanta!!): Unicycle.com - Unicycles for Sale - Unicycling