mtbr member

How obvious are Tsali and Pigsah trails without local knowledge?

I've never ridden anything in North Carolina despite living only about 2.5 hours away. I've heard nothing but good things about the trails in the area.

Before I throw my gear in the car and drive to NC, is that an area where a rider with no experience or knowledge of the area can find a good trail and ride it?

I started riding in Colorado and California where trails are fairly well known and easy to follow. Moving to the Southeast, the trails in the Atlanta area are almost all SORBA designed and built and extremely user friendly.

Are Tsali and Pigsah trails relatively easy to find and follow? I don't expect Chicopee-style trail marking and flow but I don't want to drive all the way there and miss the best the area has to offer solely because I didn't know where it was or how to get there.

Go faster!
    Tsali is well marked and easy to find/follow. Pisgah on the other hand can get tricky at times. Some trails in Pisgah get more traffic and are marked better than others.

I suggest checking this site out:
    Mountain Biking in Western North Carolina - MTB WNC

mtbr member
    what southern velo said is exactly my experience. tsali is no problem. pisgah on the other hand can range from no problem finding your way to WTH is the trail? get one of the big maps and advice from one of the local shops and pisgah is a blast.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Tsali is very well marked and not particulary difficult from a technical standpoint. Tsali has the benefit of being close to the NOC too.

\m/{-_-}\m/
    I've never ridden Tsali, but I would not recommend Pisgah without a good map. One missed turn out there can change your whole ride.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Parts of Pisgah are much more difficult to figure out than others. Bent Creek might be a great place to start. Good maps are available and the trails there are generally well marked.

Agree with others on Tsali - no problem at all.