Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Arachnophobia !

mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Arachnophobia !

This was my most traumatic expirience on the trail. I would consider this therapy for me. Sense this is somewhat anonymous. Please understand. I must get this out of my mind.
    It may seem a bit cowardly to some but for me its not.

I've been riding for the past two years usually in late afternoon or evening before sundown. This morning I decided to get up earlier and ride a trail I don't ride often. I arrived when it opened at 8am. I was the first one there. Well, after a 1/4 mile I face planted a gargantuan spider and web that strung across the trail. The spider was about 3 inches long (humongous to me). I thought to my self, holy S*** get this f**** thing off me, as I franticly brush it of my jersey. I then proceeded on concentrating not to run into anymore. Then sure enough without exaggeration about 50 feet theres another strung across the trail. At this point I get off my bike and walk around the web staring intently at the spider, which was larger than the first. I love nature and everything but someting in my brain is telling me to quit and go back home. I thought, no I'm just being a wimp. So I get back on and ride. I'm doin great, spiders are disappearing further in the back of my mind. I'm on a nice fast downhill. Then I see it, right in front of me. Another web. I grab brakes, it wasn't quick enough. Web plastered my face and arms. I don't know where that spider went which was worse for me. I gave up and gave into my brain and took the side road back to my car and left. Yes I'm a wimp so what. I know one thing. I'm not going to be the first on the trail anymore.
    thank you for listening.
    Last edited by myfun; 07-17-2010 at 07:30 PM.

PMK
    mtbr member
    Santos Banana Spiders???????????

PK

mtbr member
    Feb 2009