mtbr member
    May 2005

Any regular Oleta riders ?

I just started riding Oleta 3 weeks ago...really like it, and have been back 5 times since.
    But, almost every trail has a couple of forks which can get you turned around going the wrong way. Is there a standard where most of the forks are ridden as lefts or rights ?
    Also, do you find it easier to ride there in morning sun ?
    Yesterday I was really dialed in on Gilligan's until near 3/4 or so point (just past delirium), when I got totally turned around, though the previous times was not an issue.
    Really like the challenge physical/mental challenge of riding this trail with pace, but would like to not get off track so frequently.

El Gorrrriiii
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Surfdog93 View Post
    I just started riding Oleta 3 weeks ago...really like it, and have been back 5 times since.
    But, almost every trail has a couple of forks which can get you turned around going the wrong way. Is there a standard where most of the forks are ridden as lefts or rights ?
    Also, do you find it easier to ride there in morning sun ?
    Yesterday I was really dialed in on Gilligan's until near 3/4 or so point (just past delirium), when I got totally turned around, though the previous times was not an issue.
    Really like the challenge physical/mental challenge of riding this trail with pace, but would like to not get off track so frequently.
    I ride there often. I usually hope from trial to trial to I don't have a routine per say. If I do Gilligan's Island I don't do the entire park if I don't do Gilligan's then I do just about all the intermediate trials and some of the advanced trials.

Some times the trial markers or indicators go down because of other riders or because of the rain or wear and tear. Once you ride there often you will find your way quite easy.