mtbr member

XT M756 as a singlespeed hub?

What are your thoughts on using this hub as a SS hub?

34X20. 200 pounder. Mixed trail conditions...lots of punchy climbs.

Can i expect it to last awhile?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    It's definitely been done. I am sure there is more than a few posts about this. This is the setup I am running with Surly spacers and Surly cog in the rear. 32T on 180mm arms up front and 16T in the rear.

So far so good with my setup, but its only been about a month. I have heard of a few broken XT freehubs, but I have no first hand experience. The main thing I have noticed is that the engagement of the XT freehub is not very fast. So, going from coasting to hammer time, there is some wind up before engagement. I would think, that over time, this may lead to premature failure, as there will be more velocity and force placed on the freehub when the paws engage on the XT hub as opposed to a hub of similar strength but quicker engagement.

With that said, I am just north of 200lbs dry and closer to 220lbs fully loaded. I lift weights (lunges and squats) and only ride SS right now. So, if there is an issue of strength with the XT hub, I will most likely experience it at some point.
    Stuffing our faces at an ever smaller table.

aka "SirLurkAlot"
    Mar 2010
    I have a set laced to Blunts on my 29er. They have been great but I only weigh 160.

The only issues that I'm aware of are improper adjustments of the bearings leading to premature failure.

You need to keep them lubed and properly tightened.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    i've been running an older model xt hub with spacers and a cog for quite a few years without any problems. I did break a freehub body into a bunch of pieces on a deore hub though. It was during a race and luckily I was only a kilo or so from the finish so I just ran it out. I weigh about 190 and the deore hub break was while on a 29er.

jason

mtbr member