mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Wippermann Whitestar 108 vs SRAM PC-1

Anyone here used the Wippermann Whitestar 108 single speed chain? I am a newbie and I am using the SRAM pc1 , I was told that was the one to get. But now I am hearing about this Wippermann Whitestar 108, but I do not see any reviews of it here on MTBR.
    Anyone with experience want to give a comparison? Between the SRAM pc1 and Wippermann Whitestar 108?
    Keep the wheels rolling

meatier showers
    I have not used the Wippermann but I've used the PC-1... it is a POS.

Personally I'm a fan of 8-spd chains and SRAM is my choice there. But if you're running 1/8th ring / cog... well, do what ya gotta do.

--sParty
    disciplesofdirt.org
    Remember who
    you wanted to be.

Quote Originally Posted by riverrat
    Jaybo... quit *****ing and move to Texas

mtbr member
    Get the PC-850 and be happy.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    I had been running a KMC Z510 chain with no troubles but have recently fitted a Sram PC1 and have so far had two dropped chains have got another KMC on its way

talentless hack
    Are you looking for a 1/8" chain for any particular reason? If you have 1/8" cogs/chainrings then okay, but if not, just get a 3/32" chain - they're generally better.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010

For SS bikes

Quote Originally Posted by zandr
    Are you looking for a 1/8" chain for any particular reason? If you have 1/8" cogs/chainrings then okay, but if not, just get a 3/32" chain - they're generally better.
    Oh, I thought I was in the SS section of mtbr. forums here. So yes, this thread is in regards to SS bikes. I have a conversion SS from a Marin Mountain Pine frame, with LX cranks. I have Surly 1x1 flip flop hubs, and I don't have perfect chain alignment. So I might need that extra security with the 1/8" style chain.
    Keep the wheels rolling

meatier showers
    Quote Originally Posted by ironbinder