mtbr member
    Jun 2013

When to make the single speed switch?

So I am very new to the sport of Mountain Biking been hitting the trails for less than 6 months but I am a fairly strong rider. After completing a trio of beachbody.com workout programs, Insanity and P90X I joined my Dad who is a long time rider and single speed maniac on some rides. Since I was in good shape I took to the trails quickly and love to hammer up the hills.

I have been able to ride in very tough gears on my bike my riding buddies who have at least 2 years of riding experience each are impressed since they use much lighter gears for the climbs.

It took my Dad several years to switch over but he likes it a lot. Should I wait a while longer to ensure I'm strong enough for the change? If I convert my bike over is it a nightmare to switch back if I find I'm not ready yet?

mtbr member
    The sooner you make the switch the better. No reason to bother with gears any longer.

mtbr member
    Riding ss is very different to riding gears. Even if you are able to climb a hill in a higher gear what would do if you have to climb it several times in a race. That's why ssers usually use reasonably light gears. In that case it will be difficult to get to the trails fast. SS gearing is always a compromise.

mtbr member
    I was (and still am) a noob. After about 8ish months of riding on average once a week, i tried out SS. I am not a strong rider. Regardless, i have picked gearing that suited my conditioning and trails. I enjoy riding SS more than gears and, due to my strength, find that i can walk up hills faster than i can spin on the gears. So, if i can climb on the SS then i am much faster. If i spin out on the downs, i would probably be coasting anyways. Basically, conditioning means nothing to SSing. I rode a bmx bike EVERYWHERE when i was 5yrs old. That was SS and i only hope i am stronger now than i was then.