Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Vision Quest on a SS

2K views 26 replies 10 participants last post by  Padre 
#1 ·
I'm registered to do the Vision Quest on my SS this March, so I'm looking for other SS riders that are planning on doing the VQ as well.
I need to get some more extensive training rides in before the quickly approaching March 4th date.
Shoot me a PM or post on your training schedules and maybe a few of us can hook up for some rides.
If you’ve done the VQ in past on a SS; please feel free to shoot me an idea of what to expect, since this is my first time doing this event (SS or geared).

Cheers-

#2 ·
Burdman said:
I'm registered to do the Vision Quest on my SS this March, so I'm looking for other SS riders that are planning on doing the VQ as well.
I need to get some more extensive training rides in before the quickly approaching March 4th date.
Shoot me a PM or post on your training schedules and maybe a few of us can hook up for some rides.
If you've done the VQ in past on a SS; please feel free to shoot me an idea of what to expect, since this is my first time doing this event (SS or geared).

Cheers-
It's my first time too - maybe my last. :D Sunday I plan to ride the middle third of the VQ, got to at least see it once before the event.
http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=155926

#5 ·
VQ on a SS is great...especially if you live in the area and can ride all of the course before hand. I recommend doing the counting coup a few weeks before the event in order to prep yourself. Gear yourself to make most of the climbs on the main divide between b-star and motorway and you'll be able to ride all but horsethief.

Have fun.

B

#8 ·
memories...

Burdman said:
If you've done the VQ in past on a SS; please feel free to shoot me an idea of what to expect, since this is my first time doing this event (SS or geared).
ah yes, the VQ on SS. Here's a brief recap for ya:

It's dark and cold. "Brrrrr" I say to Padre.
"Hey this first climb is really muddy!"