mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Unit or El Mar SS

If you could get one of the 2013 SS El Mar's would you, Or would you get a Unit ? Thanx

mtbr member
    Very different geometries, I think...

SPP
    Rigid.

Depends on your uses. For me, neither. It would be a Canfield Nimble 9 (new ones look fantastic). The new Niner steel hardtail has me intrigued as well.

Between the two, I like the El Mariachi. Would make a good bikepacking rig. But both are a little too long for my taste. My preference is something under 43" wheelbase and 17" CS.

Clyde on a mission!
    Dec 2011
    I have a 2012 Unit which I love. I have no experience with the El Mariachi, but from pictures only the system to tension the chain looks inferior to the system on the Unit.

On the Unit you have 2 bolts on each side locking the sliders to the frame plus a lockable adjuster screw to keep the sliders from moving forward even if the bolts slip a bit.

On the El Mar there seems to be only one bolt per side to keep the sliders from moving when you really get going.

Again, I have no practical experience with the El Mar setup, but the Kona setup is dead simple and rock solid.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I just got myself through the exact same dilemma. You need to ride both in real conditions to figure out what will work for you. For me, the Unit was the clear winner. The sliding dropouts are super simple and rock solid, the geometry (once raised about a degree via my whisky co carbon fork) feels perfect, and the pedaling platform is incredible.

Both are great bikes, i enjoyed the Salsa, rode both as fully rigid, and immediately felt connected to the Kona.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I have the limited edition dedicated SS Salsa, fully rigid....the dropouts work very very well...there are 3 bolts not one as posted above and the set screws as well...it has been bombproof for this fairly aggro fat-boy.